Megafinal dates announced

Entry to the Megafinal will be £15 per child or £12 for siblings entering. Online entry is now open.

MEGAFINALS

Still not too late to qualify -last chance saloons currently listed here: Last Chance  and more are being arranged! They will be listed on official site as soon as we have confirmation.  U12-U18s do not need to qualify this year! Simply enter online.

BERKSHIRE

Monday, 1/05/2017

Venue:
THE DOWNS SCHOOL
Compton
Newbury
Berks
RG20 6AD

Organiser: Nigel Dennis – nigelwdennis@btinternet.com

BUCKINGHAMSHIRE

Sunday, 21/05/2017

Venue:
WYCOMBE HIGH SCHOOL
Marlow Road
High Wycombe
HP11 1TB

Organiser: Ray Sayers – sayers-r@sky.com

CORNWALL

Saturday, 6/05/2017

Venue:
PENAIR SCHOOL
St Clement
Truro
TR1 1TN

Organiser: Robin Kneebone – contact@cornwallchess.org.uk

DEVON

Saturday, 10/06/2017

Venue:
CHURSTON FERRERS GRAMMAR SCHOOL
Greenway Road
Brixham
TQ5 0LN

Organiser: Tim Onions – tim.onions@yahoo.co.uk

GLOUCESTERSHIRE

Saturday, 06/05/2017

Venue:
KING’S SCHOOL
Pitt Street
Gloucester
GL1 2BG

Organiser: Adrian Bird – Dynast@sky.com

HERTS

Saturday, 29/04/2017

Venue:
ST GEORGE’S VA SCHOOL
Sun Lane
Harpenden
Herts.
AL5 4TD

Organiser: Michael Flatt – hsca@gmx.com

KENT (South East London)

Sunday, 11/06/2017

Venue:
Bishop Justus School
Magpie Hall Lane
Bromley
BR2 8HZ

Organiser: Jo Wildman – jowildman@hotmail.com

LINCOLNSHIRE

Saturday, 06/05/2017

Venue:
FOSSE WAY ACADEMY (TBC)
Ash Grove
North Hykeham
Lincs.
LN6 8DU

Organiser: Ian Scott – iscott13@hotmail.co.uk

MIDDLESEX CENTRAL

Friday, 7/04/2017

Venue:
HARROW HIGH SCHOOL
Gayton Road
Harrow
HA1 2JG

Organiser: Tony Corfe – tony@tcs-chess.demon.co.uk

NORFOLK

Saturday, 29/04/2017

Venue:
CITY OF NORWICH SCHOOL
Sports Hall
Eaton Road
Norwich
NR4 6PP

Organiser: Stephen Orton – stephen.orton@cantab.net

NORTHAMPTONSHIRE AND LEICESTERSHIRE

Saturday, 13/05/2017

Venue:
WELLINGBOROUGH SCHOOL
London Road
Wellingborough
NN8 2BX

Organiser: Nigel Mapletoft – nigel.mapletoft@sky.com

NORTHUMBRIA

Saturday, 20/05/2017

Venue:
RGS NEWCASTLE
Lambton Rd. Entrance
Jesmond
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
NE2 4RX

Organiser: Tim Wall – timpeterwall@gmail.com

OXFORDSHIRE

Saturday, 29/04/2017

Venue:
COKETHORPE SCHOOL
Witney
OX29 7PU

Organiser: Andrew Varney – AV.chess@outlook.com

RICHMOND

Saturday, 03/06/2017

Venue:
ORLEANS PARK SCHOOL
Richmond Road
Twickenham
TW1 3BB

Organiser: Paul McKeown – richmond_junior_chess_club@hotmail.com

SCOTLAND NORTH

Sunday, 11/06/2017

Venue:
ALBYN SCHOOL
17-23 Queens Road
Aberdeen
AB15 4PB

Organiser: Kumaresan – satchi99@hotmail.com

SOMERSET

Sunday, 7/05/2017

Venue:
MILLFIELD SENIOR SCHOOL
Barracuda & Jubilee Sports Hall
Street
Somerset
BA16 0YD

Organiser: Matthew Turner – MatthewTurner@millfieldprep.com

SOUTH YORKSHIRE AND DERBYSHIRE

Saturday, 29/04/2017

Venue:
ECCLESALL C OF E JUNIOR SCHOOL
Ringinglow Road
Sheffield
S11 7PQ

Organiser: Phillip Beckett – phillipbeckett@yahoo.com

SUFFOLK

Sunday,     7/05/17

Venue:
WOODBRIDGE SCHOOL
Burkitt Road
Woodbridge
IP12 4JH

Organiser: Adam Hunt – ahunt@woodbridge.suffolk.sch.uk

SURREY WEST & HAMPSHIRE EAST

Sunday, 14/05/2017

Venue:
TORMEAD SCHOOL
Cranley Road
Guildford
Surrey
GU12 2JD

Organiser: Emma-Jane Billington-Phillips – ejbillingtonphillips@gmail.com

TEESIDE

Saturday, 6/05/2017

Venue:
YARM SENIOR SCHOOL
The Friarage
Yarm
N Yorkshire
TS15 9EJ

Organiser: Sean Marsh – chesslinks@hotmail.com

WESSEX

Saturday, 20/05/2017

Venue:
LAVINGTON SCHOOL
The Spring
Market Lavington
Devizes
SN10 4EB

Organiser: Steve Jones – steve.jones@ieee.org

WORCESTERSHIRE

Date TBA

Venue:
TBA

Organiser: Alex Holowczak – alexholowczak@gmail.com

BRISTOL

Saturday, 20/05/2017

Venue:
TBC

Organiser: Robert Chandler – robert@chessinschools.co.uk

CHESHIRE, MANCHESTER & NORTH WALES

Sunday, 21/05/2017

Venue:
CHEADLE HULME SCHOOL
Claremont Road
Cheadle Hulme
Cheadle
SK8 6EF

Organiser: Jixin Yang – jixinyang@hotmail.com

CUMBRIA, LANCASHIRE & MERSEY

Saturday, 29/04/2017

Venue:
HODGSON ACADEMY
Moorland Rd.
Poulton Le Fylde
FY6 7EU

Organiser: Chris McConnachie – chris.mcconnachie@virgin.net

ESSEX

Sunday, 14/05/2017

Venue:
KINGSWOOD PRIMARY SCHOOL
Clay Hill Road
Basildon
Essex
SS16 5DE

Organiser: Nathanael Lutton – chessorganiser@gmail.com

HAMPSHIRE

Sunday, 23/04/2017

Venue:
EVEREST COMMUNITY COLLEGE
Oxford Way
Basingstoke
Hants
RG24 9UP

Organiser: Amy Grieve – amy.grieve@ntlworld.com

KENT (Sandwich)

Sunday, 30/04/2017

Venue:
SANDWICH TECH. SCHOOL
Deal Road
Sandwich
Kent
CT13 0FA

Organiser: Mark Towlson – mtowlson123@btinternet.com

KENT (Tonbridge)

Saturday, 27/05/2017

Venue:
TONBRIDGE GIRLS GRAMMAR SCHOOL
Deakin Leas
Tonbridge
Kent
TN9 2JR

Organiser: Jo Wildman – jowildman@hotmail.com

MERCIA

Sunday, 14/05/2017

Venue:
HEREFORD CATHEDRAL SCHOOL,
The Zimmerman Building
Church Street
Hereford
HR1 2LR

Organiser: Richard Croot – r.croot@herefordcs.com

MIDDLESEX SOUTH

Monday, 1/05/2017

Venue:
HARROW HIGH SCHOOL
Gayton Road
Harrow
HA1 2JG

Organiser: Tony Corfe – tony@tcs-chess.demon.co.uk

NORTH and WEST YORKSHIRE

Saturday, 27/05/2017

Venue:
YORK HIGH SCHOOL
Cornlands Road
York
YO24 3WZ

Organiser: John Hipshon – jr.hipshon@ntlworld.com

NORTHERN IRELAND

Saturday, 13/05/2017

Venue:
METHODIST COLLEGE
1 Malone Road
Belfast
BT9 6BY

Organiser: Mark Newman – mark.chris.newman@googlemail.com

NOTTINGHAMSHIRE

Saturday, 20/05/2017

Venue:
NOTTINGHAM HIGH SCHOOL
Forest Rd.
Nottingham
NG7 4ED

Organiser: John Crawley – crawlJ6@aol.com

PENNINE

Saturday, 29/04/2017

Venue:
SADDLEWORTH SCHOOL
High Street
Uppermill
Oldham
OL3 6BU

Organiser: Steve Rigby – nippy50@gmail.com

SCOTLAND EAST

Sunday, 23/04/2017

Venue:
Broughton High School
29 East Fettes Avenue
Edinburgh
EH4 1EG

Organiser: Liz Sams – chessljc@gmail.com

SCOTLAND WEST

Saturday, 13/05/17
Sunday,     14/05/17

Venue:
ST MARGARET’S CHURCH HALL
96 Hallcraig Street
Airdrie
N Lanarkshire
ML6 6AW

Organiser: Michael Hanley – chesstutor@uwclub.net

SOUTH WALES

Saturday, 6/05/2017

Venue:
Whitchurch Primary School
Erw Las
Whitchurch
Cardiff
CF14 1NL

Organiser: Ian Eustis – Kevin.staveley@btinternet.com

STAFFORDSHIRE AND SHROPSHIRE

Saturday, 13/05/2017

Venue:
ST EDWARD’S ACADEMY
Westwood Road
Leek
Staffs
ST13 8DN

Organiser: Robert Milner – windycheddleton@gmail.com

SURREY CENTRAL/EAST

Saturday, 29/04/2017

Venue:
THURFIELD SCHOOL, LEATHERHEAD
Dilston Road
Leatherhead
Surrey
KT22 7NZ

Organiser: Olivia Smithies – olivia@juniorchessuk.com

SUSSEX

Saturday,   29/04/17

Venue:
DOWNLANDS COMMUNITY SCHOOL
Dale Avenue
Hassocks
BN6 8LP

Organiser: Sussex Junior Chess – megafinal@sussexjuniorchess.org

WARWICKSHIRE

Sunday,   14/05/17

Venue:
WARWICK TRIDENT ACADEMY
Trident Park
Poseidon Way
Warwick
CV34 6SW

Organiser: Alex Holowczack – alexholowczak@gmail.com

WEST ANGLIA

Sunday,   30/04/2017

Venue:
ASHBURTON HALL, ST FAITH’S SCHOOL
Trumpington Road
Cambridge
CB2 8AG

Organiser: Nick Jackson – nick.jackson@chessforkids.co.uk

TAKE THE
CHALLENGE

Sponsored by Delancey, the UK Schools’ Chess Challenge begins every Spring Term, and continues over four stages and eight months.

NEWS

Gigafinal Dates and Venues

Northern Gigafinal: Saturday 15th-16th July 2017 at Wright Robinson College, Off Falmer Close, Abbey Hey Lane, Manchester M18 8RL Southern Gigafinal: Saturday 22nd-23rd July 2017 at Orleans Park School, Richmond Road, Twickenham. TW1 3BB Players need to qualify from...